A Food Guide for the Ketogenic Diet!

After reading about the awesome benefits and ease of starting the ketogenic diet, you must be wondering: what do I eat?

Let me tell you.

To be on the ketogenic diet and enter ketosis, you’ll eat foods that are high-fat and low-carb (abbreviated HFLC or LCHF). Another way of saying this, is eating to keep your daily carb/sugar intake low, with high fat intake and a moderate amount of protein.

Personally, I keep my daily carb intake under 20grams (g), protein about 50g, and I’ll eat fat to satiety.

By the way: don’t be scared of saturated fat. It’s good for you.

It really is that easy and simple to begin a ketogenic diet.

What kind of foods do we eat on the ketogenic diet?

7
Vegetables!

As you know, vegetables are fantastic for the body and mind. One benefit from the ketogenic diet is you’ll modify your palette by eating less sugar; if you didn’t like vegetables before, they will taste better now!

Now, not all vegetables are created equal; some have more nutrition and less carbs than others. Consider incorporating these into your diet:

Broccoli, Bok choy, Cauliflower, Celery, Chard, Chinese cabbage, Cucumber, Garlic (is a vegetable right?), Kale, Lettuce, Spinach, and Watercress (to name a few).

I’ve bolded my current favorites; I personally eat a generous amount each day. If you’re not familiar with watercress, it’s one of the healthiest vegetables around; it has a peppery flavor. Great with steak! I personally like frying/wilting my veggies in butter or avocado oil.

For those of you not vegan or vegetarian..

Theres-nothing-better-than-quality-seafood
Seafood!
All-meats1
Meats!

Seafood and meats are a great, healthy source of nutrition; also low-carb, high-fat, and a good amount of protein! I routinely buy rotisserie chickens, shrimp, turkey deli-meat, and bacon from Costco (wholesale supplier). I’ll have steak once in awhile; with black garlic it’s divine.

It’s important to note that the science isn’t out on the safety of cured meats; as much as a love bacon I avoid eating too much.

I’m sure you’re in awe of the foods you can have on this diet; lets keep going!

Cheese Plate-3965
Cheese, Nuts, and Dairy!

Oh boy. Cheese and nuts are a big one for me; before I started keto I didn’t like many cheeses. I’d stick to the safe “American” or “Swiss”; now that I’ve started keto I have to say; cheese ROCKS. There’s so many interesting flavors to rock your palette. I had wine-infused cheese from Trader Joe’s last week; AMAZING flavors.

Nuts are fantastic; just make sure not to overdo it. It’s very easy to make a bag of pistachios or smokehouse almonds disappear in one sitting.

And for dairy products; again as long as it fits your daily macros and general low-carb/high-fat goal, go for it! We personally buy a lot of eggs and heavy cream.

Whew. I told you: keto is an easy and awesome way to reclaim your health.

Look out for articles about fatbombs, keto-pizza, and keto-friendly peanut butter.

Here’s a great recap of keto-friendly foods.

keto-paleo-diet-food-pyramid

-cikayda

cropped-screen-shot-2017-06-26-at-3-27-28-pm

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Food Guide for the Ketogenic Diet!

Add yours

  1. I’ve been on the Ketogenic diet since January and I really love it! There is such a wide array of foods to try and recipes all over the internet that can “convert” any food into a keto-friendly dish. Thank you for this information, it’s always great to reflect on the Ketogenic basics!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

